About us

Objective and purpose

In February 1996, the Technical Ordinance on Waste (TVA) of the Swiss Confederation stipulated a landfill ban for combustible waste. With the creation of the Foundation Auto Recycling Switzerland, the car importers laid the basis for the search and implementation of an environmentally sound and economically viable solution for the processing of ASR (automotive shredder residue / shredder light fraction), since about a quarter of the weight of the vehicle is transformed into ASR during shredding. Shredder residue (SR) consists of plastics, rubber, fibrous materials, textiles, glass and dirt, and includes about 10 percent residual metals as a result of the coarse separation in the shredding process. SR is considered hazardous waste.

After extensive research, ASR can be thermally disposed by municipal waste incineration plants (MWIP) since 1996. The mixing ratio of SR in the household refuse has been set at 5 percent by the Federal Office for the Environment (FOEN).
This has no effect of the emission behaviour, the organic materials are incinerated and slag is deposited in landfill sites without any risk to the environment. The volume is thus reduced by 70 percent and the mass by 50 percent. The high calorific value of ASR is used as valuable energy for producing electricity and district heating.

Compared with the previously practiced disposal, this step represents a great environmental progress. However, this type of treatment is associated with significantly higher costs. In order to create a balance to the lower landfill costs of foreign shredder facilities, the Foundation pays disposal contributions to the Swiss shredder plants. As proof and as a basis for calculation, they must submit the cancelled logbooks of the shredded vehicles.

In addition to the MWIP solution, the Foundation examined other procedures. But to this day, there is no better technology on the market from an environmental and economic point of view. In addition, technical improvements in the treatment of MWIP residues are coming on stream, representing a further level of development. The thermal waste treatment plant in Hinwil and later the MWIP of Monthey have realized dry slag discharge. Compared to the previously standard wet discharge, this system has a number of advantages such as improved quality and quantity of the separated metals. A large-scale project in Hinwil focusses on the recovery of fine metals with a grain size under 5 mm. Measurements with ASR, which are financially supported by the Foundation, are also planned.

Thanks to the thermal treatment of the complete ASR since the year 2000, Switzerland holds a leading position within Europe. However, the Foundation is open to consider alternative solutions which are ecologically and economically superior to currently practiced methods.

Annual Report

Partner

Qui sommes-nous

Objectif et but

L'ordonnance sur le traitement des déchets (OTD) a exigé une interdiction sur les décharges pour déchets combustibles en février 1996. Avec la création d'une fondation, les importateurs de voitures ont jeté les bases de la recherche et de la mise en œuvre d'une solution écologiquement et économiquement viable pour la récupération de RBA (fraction légère Shredder). Environ un quart du poids du véhicule court après broyage comme RBA. Les RBA sont composés de matières plastiques, caoutchouc, pâte, textile, verre et saleté et comprend environ 10 métaux résiduels pour cent, en raison de la séparation grosse dans le processus de broyage. RBA est des déchets dangereux.

Après des recherches approfondies, les RBA pourraient être jetés thermiquement dans les usines d'incinération des ordures ménagères (UIOM), 1996. Le rapport de mélange pour les ordures de la maison a été fixé à 5 % par l'Office fédéral de l'environnement (OFEV)..

Ainsi le comportement d'émission n'est pas modifié, les matières organiques sont brûlées et déposées le laitier sans risque pour l'environnement dans les décharges. Donc réduire le volume de 70 pourcents et la masse de 50 pourcents. Le haut pouvoir calorifique de RBA est utilisé comme énergie utile pour la production d'électricité et chauffage urbain.

En comparaison avec le dépôt antérieur, cette étape signifie un grand progrès environnemental. En effet, des coûts sont plus élevés liés à cette reprise. Les contributions de disposition de Fondation aux œuvres de broyeurs suisses versées pour compenser la baisse des coûts d'enfouissement des œuvres étrangères du destructeur. Comme base de contrôle et de calcul, les œuvres de la déchiqueteuse doivent présenter les passeports annulés de véhicules déchiquetés.

En plus de la solution UIOM, la Fondation examine plus de procédures. Aujourd'hui, aucune meilleue technologie n’est en place écologiquement et économiquement sur le marché. Aussi émergeant des améliorations techniques dans le traitement des résidus UIOM, ce qui représente une nouvelle étape du développement. Tout d'abord, la chaleur et la centrale électrique à Hinwil, puis l’ UIOM Monthey ont réalisé la décharge de scories sèches. Par rapport à la décharge humide habituelle, ce système présente certains avantages : meilleure qualité et la quantité de certains métaux. L'accent sur la récupération des métaux fins, moins de 5 mm taille des grains est examiné dans un projet d'envergure à Hinwil. Mesures avec RBA, qui sont soutenus financièrement par la Fondation sont destinés.

Avec la filiale depuis l'an 2000 pour le recyclage thermique des RBA à 100 %, la Suisse occupe au coeur de l'Europe une position de leader. La Fondation est toutefois ouverte à envisager des solutions alternatives qui sont écologiquement et économiquement meilleures que celles pratiquées aujourd'hui.

Rapport annuel

Partenaire